Attention Windows 10 Users

Talk about anything EE related and doesn't belong in another forum. Gameplay, chit-chat, or any questions you have -- it all belongs here.
Post Reply
evil_pro
Forum Noob
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 12:18 am
Lobby Username: evil_pro

Attention Windows 10 Users

Post by evil_pro »

I'm not sure how familiar everybody who might be playing EE on Windows 10 is with the versioning system, but Microsoft is releasing feature updates to Windows now more frequently.

The initial release was Build 10240, the current release is 10586.

Before releasing such huge updates to the public, they release it to "Windows Insiders", people who chose to test newer versions.

Here's the problem: It looks like Empire Earth will be unplayable on the next huge update.
In recent builds released to Insiders, Empire Earth crashes out with errors in the Low-Level-Engine.dll. And no, it's not the bug that's simply fixed by applying Windows 7 Compatibility Mode. Even with Windows 7 Compatibility Mode it wont work anymore. I've made an Microsoft Employee aware of the issue who said he'll see what he can do, and I'll update this post when I know more.

For RealForce / Jodocus / Other Developers: If I remember correctly from reading NeoEE patchnotes, you've increased compatibility to newer versions of Windows before. If that's the case and you want to take a look at it, there's some more detailed information about the issue on my blog. You can find it here: http://insidewindows.net/2016/02/28/emp ... ild-14267/

Jodocus
NeoEE Developer
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:24 am
Lobby Username: Jodocus

Re: Attention Windows 10 Users

Post by Jodocus »

Thanks for the info and your efforts. I will test it myself in the near future. Because it seems to happen at the game's start, it's maybe the only issue and I may manipulate the DLL so it bypasses the code that won't work anymore. If not, well, we will see.

evil_pro
Forum Noob
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 12:18 am
Lobby Username: evil_pro

Re: Attention Windows 10 Users

Post by evil_pro »

Jodocus wrote:Thanks for the info and your efforts. I will test it myself in the near future. Because it seems to happen at the game's start, it's maybe the only issue and I may manipulate the DLL so it bypasses the code that won't work anymore. If not, well, we will see.
I have good news. Thanks to that employee who forwarded my article on the issue, it was quickfixed in the newest build. He also said that I should contact him if more issues with Empire Earth surface before release :)

So yeah, for now it's fixed. I didn't expect this to go that fast, considering Microsoft having other priorities.

Black Star
Senior Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:41 am
Lobby Username: Die Gurke

Re: Attention Windows 10 Users

Post by Black Star »

Community thanks you for your effort!
[22:23:06] [-Ts-] Tricky: i dont even know what my name is anymore

Win10wantsEE
Forum Noob
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:04 am
Lobby Username: Win10wantsEE

Re: Attention Windows 10 Users

Post by Win10wantsEE »

Hi All,

Having some trouble playing EE, am using Windows 10 OS and when I load up EE it will do the start movie and then I just get hit with a blank screen, do any of you know of anything that will stop this from happening?

Cheers

User avatar
Arntzen
Administrator
Posts: 1927
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:13 am
Lobby Username: _[eC]_Arntzen_
Location: Norway

Re: Attention Windows 10 Users

Post by Arntzen »

Did you try opening it with win xp compatibility mode? Right click on EE exe, go to properties then compatibility.
A Good Place to Start: viewtopic.php?f=75&t=3884
Click to download: eC Civilization

Win10wantsEE
Forum Noob
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:04 am
Lobby Username: Win10wantsEE

Re: Attention Windows 10 Users

Post by Win10wantsEE »

Hi There,

Yeah, on the compatibility, there is a choice of service pack 2 or service pack 3, both of which have the same conclusion of the blackness...

Jodocus
NeoEE Developer
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:24 am
Lobby Username: Jodocus

Re: Attention Windows 10 Users

Post by Jodocus »

Do you have more than one GPU in your computer? Maybe try Onboard graphics if available.

jokbon
Basic Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 9:16 pm
Lobby Username: jokbon
Contact:

Re: Attention Windows 10 Users

Post by jokbon »

For win 10 users with intel graphics:
Everything works with xp service pack 3 compatibility mode with latest graphic updates.
There is a link for latest drivers autodetect download tool.
https://downloadmirror.intel.com/24345/ ... aller.exes
All isusues on skylake are fixed in latest beta driver.

For win users with amd graphics:
Everything works with xp service pack 3 compatibility mode with latest graphic updates.
There is a link for latest drivers
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... ional/Home
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... ws+XP+-+64
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... Vista+-+32
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... Vista+-+64
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... ows+7+-+32
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... ows+7+-+64
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... s+8.1+-+32
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... s+8.1+-+64
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... ws+10+-+32
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... ws+10+-+64

CD KEY PROBLEM at login.
Open WONLobby.cfg file in empire earth directory.
Change CDKeyCheck to false or true.
(clicking false will result of no acces to old loby but neoee lobby will work :thumbsupl: then).

Post Reply

Return to “EE General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests